Years ago, I remember watching a special on U2 that showed footage of a few words Bono said at one of the last nights of a tour in the late ’80s.  What he said struck a chord with me at the time, and I still remember it years later.

“We have to go away and just dream it all up again.”

Those words popped into my head today, as I was thinking about my place in the world.

A few months ago I wrote about being at a crossroads, not knowing what it meant or what I was supposed to do, but knowing that I was about to move into a different direction.  Little did I know that the day after that was posted, a period of turmoil would be unleashed.  Sometimes change comes swiftly, and sometimes it creeps in sneakily.  However it gets in the door, it can be difficult to deal with.

The beautiful thing about a period of difficulty is that it forces you to dig deep.  It forces you to examine who you truly are, what you believe in and what you will fight for.  What this chapter has made me see is that somehow in the race to be somebody in this world, I’d lost sight of the dreams I held so dear as a high school graduate, as a college student, as a young adult embarking on life in the real world.

Now I know – the time has come to dream it all up again.  Dreams embody the essence of who we are and connect us with what we were born to do.  However massive, or even cryptic, they may seem, they provide the roadmap for our destiny.  Dreams unleash us as the people we were born to be.

And so, now I begin to dream once again.