When the soul lies down in that grass the world is too full to talk about.  –Rumi

it’s the simple things.

I do my best to go for a walk at lunch time during the week. I think it’s important to have moments in the day that give you a break. All that thinking and doing can be exhausting. I treasure moments when I can just be.

As I meandered down a new street, I came upon a park. Children played with their friends, carefree but carefully watched by their nannies. There was the giddiness of the beginning of summer in the air.

Joy. It was everywhere.

I noticed a sign. Dog-free park, it said. For some reason, I saw the sign and felt the urge to walk across the grass, barefoot.  It sounds like such a simple thing, to take your shoes off and walk across the grass. But life in New York can be complicated.  People walk their dogs and sometimes don’t clean up after them, so you never know what surprises will find you. (Or your feet.) It doesn’t always make sense to be carefree.

But the urge became so great, I knelt down, and one by one took off my shoes. I stepped on the grass. It felt cool. It felt good. Soft, damp with dew, earthy. I walked across the lawn and felt grounded. In the middle of my city, on a warm June day, it felt right.

I loved it so much I did it again the day.

It’s the simple things.

xo, with goodness and grace.

