An odd thing happened this week.  I felt happy.

Isn’t it funny how when you feel joy, for no reason at all, it unsettles you?  Every now and then I’d stop and think about the feeling I was having.  What is that?  Oh, this is what happiness feels like.

I wanted to grasp on to the feeling, but you know what happens when you do that?  The feeling goes away.  So, I allowed myself steep in a jovial state of mind. For as long as it wanted to stay, I would welcome it.

As I ran errands yesterday, I came upon the Flatiron Building, a place I’ve walked by hundreds of times in the years I’ve lived in New York City.  I’m fascinated by its architectural details and am always trying to find new ways to photograph it.   I took out my camera phone, and I began shooting straight up.  After a few frames, I noticed a spectrum showing up in the pictures.  I moved the camera away, then looked directly at the sky.

My heart lept.  My social media feeds are full of other people’s pictures of rainbows, but they have been elusive to me.  So to look up and see one, directly above me, seemed like a miracle.

IMG_2955

I just smiled. I felt so happy.

xo, with goodness and grace.

