In a perfect world, Sundays are lazy days with nothing to do and nowhere to go. In reality, these kinds of days are rare in my world.

The first half of the day usually involves some kind of clean out of the refrigerator. I get ambitious when I shop for the week, all full of ideas of meals to cook.  But then my schedule gets full and I get home late, take out in hand.  Which means Sunday breakfast is a often a salvage of vegetables almost past their prime, and they find their way in an egg scramble or as the base for a poached egg.

On this morning, I looked in my pantry and discovered a gluten-free pancake mix about to expire.  For many reasons, I haven’t had pancakes in almost two years—sacrilege, really. So, I made a perfectly nice stack of pancakes.

IMG_2444

Then I started thinking about a dish I’ve seen in a restaurant I like to visit, Buvette in the West Village of NYC.  Sometimes they serve a waffle sandwich, which has a runny fried egg, cheese, and bacon, and it looks heavenly.  Since I can’t have gluten, I’ve never had the good fortune to try it.  Thinking about this, I felt inspired.

And so I played with food.

My take on that mouthwatering dish ended up as a riff on Eggs Benedict.  Instead of an English muffin, I used a pancake as the foundation.  Bacon stood in for Canadian bacon (which I’ve never understood, anyway), and a single poached egg stood high and proud on top of my breakfast mountain.  A flurry of cheddar cheese and a drizzle of maple syrup tied it all together.

IMG_2439

It was delicious.

I hope you find room to play this week, and that it leads to all kinds of deliciousness.

xo, with goodness and grace.

 

