I find myself regularly saying how busy I am.  There’s a whole school of thought that’s debated in our culture lately, about how we hide behind our busy-ness and wear it as a badge of courage.  The truth is I actually am very busy, busier than I’d like to be, often doing things that I’d rather not be doing.

This is what I was thinking about as I spent a good chunk of my weekend dealing with a work issue.  As I walked through Grand Central Terminal on my way to the subway, en route to the office, I saw a couple in front of me holding hands.  It was enough to divert my thoughts and soften my breathing.  To my right, I saw another couple locked in an embrace.

And farther to my right, I saw this.

Grand Central Bride & Groom

I saw this couple and it stopped me.  Because, really, this is what life is all about.  It isn’t about whether the flight was cancelled or the tickets were refundable or someone was being uncooperative.  Those may have been at the forefront of my mind, but by no means is that what my life is about.  Life is so much bigger than the little things that can throw a day off.

This was the perfect reminder to remember what is real.

