This morning was one of those cozy times when I could have stayed under the covers for hours.  Something about the end of Daylight Savings Time made me feel justified to do the things I love, but lately haven’t had much time to do.

I slept in and lazily snuggled with my pillows, then made breakfast and watched Oprah’s Super Soul Sunday conversation. Today she interviewed Rob Bell, an author and pastor.  It was an interesting enough conversation, one that I listened to as I checked my social media sites. But then he said something that got my full attention.

We have this crisis of wonder.

He went on to say that wonder is the thing that lets you wake up in the morning and say to yourself with joy, “Guess what I get to do today?”

This is the big unnamed thing that has left me restless recently.  In all of our busyness, in the midst of doing everything we think we’re supposed to be doing to make a life, sometimes we actually forget to live a life.

I find myself trying to get through days and the sea of details they bring.  But getting through a day is not the same as living it.  You cannot find joy when your intention is simply, “If I just make it through today…”  There has to be more to life than that.

So, where am I missing the wonder?

Could it be in the swirl of leaves that were flying outside this morning while the wind blew, making it seem like I was in the middle of an autumnal verison of a technicolor snow globe?

Or is it in the deep envy I feel as I look at the Instagram feeds of the photographers, chefs and food stylists I follow?  Some pictures literally leave me breathless, as if they are beckoning me to pay more attention to my love of food and pictures, the lifelong passions that get neglected in the midst of my chaotic days.

Or is it possibly in my tiny kitchen, where I should cook more meals than I do, not because it’s one more “should” but because I actually am gratified and nourished by it?  Last night, armed with a new pie plate from my mother’s kitchen, I honored that by making this Apple Tart with Almond Cream.

IMG_4164

Creating it made me happy.  Is that where wonder lies?

I looked out the window late this afternoon, my attention directed towards the sky.  As the darkness of the early evening descended, I caught a glimpse of blue sky, the last bit of afternoon holding on.  Right in the middle of all that blueness was a massive fluff of a cloud, beautifully lit up with a pink glow.

It was a magnificent sight.

As I sat thinking about wonder, it was as if the universe not only gifted me with beauty, but also with a thought to go along with it.

Ah, there it is.

Perhaps it’s always there.  Maybe we just need to be ready to see it.

