Yesterday afternoon I took part in a yoga workshop.  At least that’s how I described it when people asked what I was doing this weekend, but it’s kind of a misnomer. Because while there was some yoga involved, it was more of a life workshop, almost a chiropractic adjustment for the soul.

It was led by Jennifer Pastiloff, a writer/inspirational yoga instructor, though that description does not do her justice either.  Through yoga, music, and her words, she helps people create breakthroughs in their lives.  If you don’t know her work, check out her beautifully written blog, The Manifest-Station.

In the class, we did yoga, wrote in journals and shared ourselves.  I’m in awe of how brave everyone was in sharing themselves with a room full of strangers.  So courageous that most of us were in tears at some point during the class.

In one of the exercises, we had to partner up and share who we are by completing the sentence “I am…”  The thought behind it is that any sentence that begins with “I am…” is a sacred declaration of ourselves and sets the experience of how we will show up in the world.

I knew instantly what mine would be.

I am love. 

After we declared who we were, we had to look in the eyes of our partner for three minutes straight, without saying anything.  It was unsettling and uncomfortable: we giggled, we made funny faces, we blinked furiously.  But then for a few brief seconds something clicked, and we connected and felt a deep recognition.

It feels goofy to write it, but it was palpable and it was real.

I’m still processing the afternoon, but I do know when it was over I felt transformed from the person I was when I walked in. I floated out of the class, calm, centered and all filled up with love.

I flung myself into my city, finished my Saturday errands—and went on complete and total sensory overload.  I ended the day exhausted, spent and cranky.  I was asleep by 10pm.

But today I felt renewed as I walked around Brooklyn with my father on this clear, windy fall day.  We enjoyed the beauty before us.

And, I saw the signs of what I’ve been seeing these last few months.  Perhaps I knew my “I am…” long before I gave a name to it.

Perhaps this is what I’ve been manifesting in my life.

IMG_3419

IMG_6560

IMG_6602

And this couple symbolized the love of one another.  All against a beautiful backdrop of a New York skyline.

IMG_3529

What are kind of love are you manifesting in your life?

