Someone cleaned my windows.

I realized this as I went to bed last night, glancing out the window to nosily see who was still in the office in the building across the street from me. In New York, what’s happening across the street can be as entertaining as any TV show.

Suddenly the view was not fogged over by the dirt of a city life.

It was one of those moments where I felt awe of a world where kindnesses randomly show up.

Perhaps it was the construction workers who’ve been working in the facade of the building, the same ones I suspected drew a heart into one of the dusty panes a few months ago. Perhaps they needed to clean them to move ahead with whatever repair they are working on. Or perhaps they wanted to give somebody who doesn’t always have time to take care of such things a break.

Whomever it was, and whatever their reason, I am grateful to them. It reminds me of the grace in every day interactions, from the cashier in my office cafeteria who trusted me to pay for my breakfast later when I didn’t have enough money in my pocket to the coffee shop baristas who gave me a larger drink than I’d ordered just because. A simple act of kindness can uplift a mood, change a day, alter a life.

Kindness matters.

Sometimes you just need someone to dust things off to remind you of the beauty that is right in front of you.

