When I’ve visited the Union Square Greenmarket these past few weeks, I’ve been greeted by bushels of tomatillos.  I have never cooked with them before, but I’m always captivated by them whenever I’m in a Mexican restaurant.  If there are three salsas in front of me, invariably I prefer the salsa verde made with tomatillos.

So I bought a bunch and decided to practice making my own salsa.

IMG_3312

It couldn’t be easier.

A relative of the tomato (though closer to the gooseberry), tomatillos are sheltered in husks.  Once they are removed, the tomatillo often has a sticky coating.  Don’t mind this.  It can be washed, though if a little remains it isn’t a big deal.

Out of their husks, they look like little green tomatoes.

IMG_3337

To begin making the salsa, cut the tomatillos into quarters.

IMG_3340

Chop an onion as well and add both to a baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil.

IMG_3347

Chop a jalapeño, if you’d like, to add in a little extra heat.  Salsa needs a little heat, in my humble opinion.

Next, broil the veggies for 3-5 minutes, until they are slightly charred.  The char adds an almost smoky flavor to the salsa.

IMG_3363

Put the broiled vegetables in to the blender, along with a healthy bunch of cilantro.  If you don’t like cilantro, just leave it out.  Though, it won’t be nearly as good, in my humble opinion.  (Are you over my humble opinion yet?)

In other thoughts, can we take a moment to talk about my love of my Vitamix?  It is the best appliance ever – always reliable, always versatile.  Almost anything you want to make you can: smoothies, sauces, soups, peanut butter, ice cream, and on and on.  I feel deep love for it.

I would marry it, but it has yet to put a ring on it.  But I digress.

Back to the salsa.

IMG_3364

Purée everything until the mixture is smooth.

IMG_3369

And then, it is ready to be eaten.

IMG_3373

There are an abundance of uses for tomatillo salsa.  Use it as a sauce over chicken or fish or even scrambled eggs.  Bake shrimp with the salsa and some crumbled queso fresco or cotija cheese.  Spoon it over chicken enchiladas with crema or sour cream.

Or, my preferred way to enjoy it: grab some tortilla chips and dip away.

