Work has always been such a big part of my life, though it hasn’t always loved me back.

Today I remembered how grateful I am to work with a group of people who are kind and fun and know how to laugh.

We spent the day in training (with Hospitality Quotient, which is a consulting group from restaurateur Danny Meyer’s company—they are awesome!), where we learned how to function better as a team.  The specifics of the day don’t matter as much as the fact that there was much talk about collaboration and support and empathy.  No matter how broad the skill set, no matter how big the corporation, no matter how much revenue is generated, it all comes down to very basic human interactions.

Kindness and respect matter.

We ended the day with a fun night at the spa, where we had treatments, nibbled on hors d’oeuvres and just hung out and enjoyed each other’s company.  How lucky I am.

Since today is September 11, I was grateful to spend the day with my work colleagues, far away from the news coverage and the melancholy feelings it always stirs up.  On this day of sad memories, it was heartwarming to spend it making new ones with people I enjoy being around.

