Sometimes you frequent a place and it becomes like a home away from home, with friendly faces who are happy to see you and are genuinely interested in how you are doing.

That’s what Perilla feels like for me.

I hadn’t been for the better part of this year, but today I returned to the restaurant in the West Village of Manhattan.  And it felt like going back home.

I happily anticipated my favorite dish for brunch, the Creamy White Grits.  When I first tried it, I was brunching alone and as I ate I audibly repeated, “mmmm” like a person possessed.  It’s that good.

Along with shrimp, peppers and bites of tasso ham, the grits are normally accompanied by a deep fried poached egg, crunchy and runny all at once – and a must try. The kitchen kindly substituted a perfectly fried egg in its place to accommodate my gluten issues.

It was as delectable as ever.

photo-50_2

Of course, when it’s served up with conversation reminiscent of old friends, food tastes even better.

There’s no place like home.

Perilla, 9 Jones Street, New York, NY 10014; 212.929.6868; perillanyc.com.

