Since I was diagnosed with a gluten intolerance almost two months ago, I’ve completely overhauled the way I eat.  Meals are mostly lean protein and veggies, with little alcohol or caffeine.  I only dabble in dairy.  While I was cleaning out my body to be free of gluten, I figured I should do a complete overhaul.

I was surprised how easily I took to it.

But these last two weeks, I’ve felt deprived of my comfort foods.  (Hence, two recent posts have mentioned a very new need for ice cream.)  I missed foods like pizza.

So when I was in Williams-Sonoma yesterday and saw this gluten-free flour from chef Thomas Keller, I saw a glimmer of comforting hope and bought it.

Cup 4 Cup Pizza Flour

The mix looked and felt like regular flour, and it was accompanied by a packet of yeast.  Everything went into a bowl…

IMG_3227

…where an egg and a cup of warm water was added…

IMG_3235

…and a fork stirred it all together until the dough looked like little rags.

IMG_3238

Kneading the dough fully incorporates all of the ingredients into a ball.

IMG_3243

I then divided the dough into two pieces, with one going into the fridge for tomorrow.  (Yay!) The other was rolled out between two pieces of parchment

IMG_3247

Once it was rolled out, I trimmed the edges, then followed the instructions by folding them over and brushing olive oil over the dough.

IMG_3252

Pricking the dough with a fork to prevent it from bubbling when baking….

IMG_3256

…and it then was pre-baked in a 500 degree oven for 8-10 minutes.

IMG_3258

I scoured the refrigerator for ingredients to top the pizza and came up with cherry tomatoes, onions and mozzarella, with a smear of creme fraiche on the crust.

IMG_3259

The crust went back into the oven for another 10 minutes, when the dough emerged crispy and the toppings were caramelized and melted.

IMG_3261

As I ate my first slice, I felt comforted and normal.  It tasted like regular pizza.  I could regain my rightful place as a pizza lover.

And for that, I am very grateful.

IMG_3264

For more info on Cup 4 Cup products, visit cup4cup.com.

