“If you’re offered a seat on a rocket ship, don’t ask what seat! Just get on.”
–Sheryl Sandberg, Lean In

I spent this morning immersed in a training session for work. At the beginning of the session the trainer, whom I’d worked with before, told me I was intelligent and charming and personable. And then he added a couple of other thoughts.

But you need to find your voice.

You haven’t taken your seat at the table.

None of this is news to me, if I were to be perfectly honest. These are the things that I’ve been working out in these posts over the last few months. I’m learning to live out loud, to be brave and honest and open. But that doesn’t mean that it isn’t often a struggle.

The grace in this is to know that I work for people who are interested in helping me become my fullest self. It is rare in this world, especially in our corporate orbit, and I am humbled by it.

Today I’m grateful to be on the journey to finding my voice….and to finding my rightful place on that rocket ship.

