Years ago, there was an episode of The Oprah Winfrey Show that featured author Toni Morrison, where she talked about being a mother.  What she said was so profound that it has stayed with me.  She explained that all children want to know from their parent is:

Do your eyes light up when I walk in the room?

No matter what our age, we all want to be seen for who we are, in our simplest essence.

This was my intention behind this gratitude series.  I’ve been writing notes of gratitude to randomly selected people in my life—some I’ve known for decades; others have entered my life only a short time ago.  I’m able to say, I see you.  

Never in my life did I think such a small thing would turn out to be one of the most fulfilling things I’ve ever done.

It’s a simple act of being present with nothing more than a thought of what you love about someone, and then sharing it with them.  I’ve been in awe at the well of love I have for so many, and it makes me feel that I should be living out loud a bit more.

We all want to be seen.

Of course, there’s always a moment when the gratitude turns into oversharing. But it’s all part of being vulnerable and brave, so in the spirit of this series, I’m willing to risk a little mortification after I hit send.

I’d originally intended to post a summary or an excerpt of some of these notes, but I’ve decided that some sentiments should stay personal.  And besides, it’s way too much fun being the secret Love Santa, sending random messages of kindness.

I’m very grateful to be able to sprinkle some love dust in my corner of the world.

And, apparently what you give to the world is what comes back to you.  This morning I woke up to my windows foggy (and, dirty), but with an unmistakeable symbol of love:

Window Heart

Who needs your messages of love today?  Who makes your eyes light up?

XO, with grace & gratitude.

