What a beautiful way to start my morning, reading these incredible words posted by Christa in New York from one of my favorite writers, Anne Lamott. How could you not love a writer who uses a phrase like, “the psychic Spanx that keeps us smaller and contained?” Touching, poignant, true. I hope you find this as inspiring as I do.

Christa Avampato

I love Anne Lamott. She is among my favorite writers because of her raw, honest turn of phrase and her fearlessness that allows her to cut right to the chase. In her efforts to thoroughly understand herself, she is a mirror for her readers.

In 2009, she wrote this gorgeous article in O, The Oprah Magazine, about how to be who you are meant to be. Her advice is this: stop. Figure out what to stop doing, who to stop pleasing, and where you don’t need to be. It’s akin to the advice that learning what not to do gets us closer to figuring out what to do. And then I would also add that you meditate because while you may be able to stop physically, you need to also give your brain a break from its tireless whirr of thoughts.

Enjoy this article and then tuck it away…

View original post 1,068 more words

