So what did you do with your long weekend?

I spent the last three days watching the Food Network. So much mouth-watering, inviting, inspirational food out there.

The problem was I was watching while I was on a cleanse.

A word of advice: if you ever decide to go on a 3-day cleanse, don’t spend the better part of the weekend watching the Food Network. Now, I’m a tough girl and for the most part I was fine…until the sticky toffee pudding segment. Then I just had to go to sleep.

But, I was doing something good for myself, so I kept going once I woke up. Plus, The Plan has you cleanse with food, which is highly logical, in my humble opinion.

The Plan, a new book by nutrition expert Lyn-Genet Recitas, is a revolutionary process of figuring out what foods work with your body chemistry. It operates on the theory that while certain foods may be “healthy” in a laboratory (like oatmeal, asparagus, turkey, and many others), they aren’t necessarily healthy for everyone. And, in fact may be the very foods that keep you overweight.

photo-20

It’s not a diet. It’s a plan designed to arm you with information on the foods that work best for you. It teaches you to listen to your body. You learn to stay away from foods that your body is “reactive” to, which leads to inflammation and weight gain. A morning weigh-in lets you know if you are reactive to a food or not.

I was a client of Lyn-Genet’s about a year and a half ago, and for a tune up again last summer, so I know that The Plan works. I looked and felt better than I had in years. What I love about the Plan is that you are encouraged to drink red wine and eat chocolate (even butter!) – as long as they work for you. Low-fat foods are discouraged, as they are harder to digest. Working with Lyn-Genet and her team was the first time I’d ever been encouraged to eat a handful of french fries when I went to a restaurant.

But the big, giant stress monster threw me off my game, and I stopped paying attention to what I was eating. In the last few months, I’ve felt more run down and exhausted than I ever remember feeling, so in the name of my self-care efforts, I decided to spend the weekend cleansing.

Lest this all sound like an infomercial…I also spent the weekend feeling like crap. I hadn’t felt bad in my previous detoxes, so this time took me by surprise.

But at least I got to eat.

Every morning starts with a 16 ounce glass of water and a liver supplement. The idea here is to support your liver, which will aid in moving the toxins out of  your system.

IMG_3098

Drinking enough water is also a key part of The Plan – you need to drink half your body weight every day.  When you drink enough water, you enable your organs to function properly. And when you don’t, your body hoards the water in your food, making it difficult to lose weight.

Day 1’s breakfast was a cup of flax granola cereal and a half a cup of blueberries. Coconut milk tops it all off. This granola is oat free (oats are one of the most high reactive foods). You can make your own, or you can it purchase from Columbia County Bread and Granola.

IMG_3106

Lunch was a carrot ginger soup—the superhero of The Plan. It’s got anti-inflammatory properties, so if you find yourself eating a food to which you are reactive, the next day you can have the soup for lunch and it helps to lessen the inflammation in the body. Sunflower seeds added vegetable protein. Protein is important to good health, and if you are looking to lose weight, eating enough is a necessity.

Supplementing the lunch was a salad of mixed greens, 1/2 pear and pumpkin seeds, and steamed broccoli drizzled with olive oil infused with orange zest.

IMG_3654

Dinner was a beautiful assortment of vegetables—kale, zucchini, broccoli, shiitake mushrooms, carrots and onions—in a spicy coconut sauce. The coco sauce has spices that are good for digestion, including tumeric, cumin, cinnamon and cayenne pepper, with a little brown sugar thrown in for good measure. You could put a piece of wood in it and it would be delicious.

A carrot-beet salad, finished with a drizzle of lemon juice and a sprinkling of sunflower seeds rounded out the plate.

IMG_3669

After Day 3 of the cleanse, you move into the testing phase. Every other day, you add in another food to test. If you gain .5 to 2 pounds, your body doesn’t love the food and it had an inflammatory response. You should stay away from it for a while and retest a few months later. But if you lose weight, the food works for you.

Cheese, steak, bread….here I come.

But first, there’s a glass of wine and a piece of chocolate calling my name.

For more information on The Plan visit lyngenet.com or to purchase the book, visit amazon.com.

