I was going to begin this post talking about how I grew up watching sports.

How particular moments in sports defined specific eras in my life. How #44 of the Yankees was my childhood hero. How the ’86 Mets filled an emotional hole for my brother and I when we first moved from a place that had started to finally feel like home.

But really, I just want to talk about food.

I love the food that goes along with sports, from hot dogs and sausages to cheese fries and cotton candy. I can remember hot chocolate from Yankee games of my youth, and I can still taste the chicken sausages that you could buy in the upper deck of Dodger Stadium.

And this quesadilla. I made it one year for the Super Bowl, even though I don’t really like football all that much. It wasn’t about the game so much – it was simply my dad and I eating a feast while a game was on the TV in the background.

This quesadilla makes me happy.

First, take some flour tortillas and your choice of cheese and bring them to room temperature.

IMG_1370

The cooking starts with a sauté of peppers and onions.

IMG_1316

Stir the vegetables occasionally and cook until they are soft and slightly caramelized, about 10-15 minutes.

IMG_1322

Spread some of the veggies on a tortilla….

IMG_1373

…then cover with a handful of cheese (and some cilantro, if you like).  Be careful not to put too much in the filling, as you don’t want it to ooze out during the cooking.

IMG_1379

Then top with another tortilla.

IMG_1383_2

Put the stuffed tortillas on a preheated, oiled griddle.  You want it to be hot enough to have a little sizzle when it hits the pan.

IMG_1397

If you are lucky enough to have  a press, then put it on top of the quesadilla.  It’s helpful in getting everything melted and crispy.  And if you don’t have one, you can use another pan or a plate to sit on the quesadilla.  Or just take a spatula and press every now and then.

IMG_1398

After about two minutes, check on the underside.  If it looks golden brown, then flip it and replace the press.

IMG_1401

When the other side is golden brown, take it out of the pan, cut into fourths (or eights), and eat the crispy, cheesy goodness.

IMG_1409

If you want to get fancy, have some guacamole, salsa and sour cream on hand for toppings.  Or, play the purist and eat it straight.

You may like it so much that you won’t even need a game as an excuse to make it.

 

