When word of the hurricane hit the news, I thought it would be a good weekend to start a cleanse.  Not a juice cleanse – the idea of not eating is pure lunacy to me –  but a diet full of vegetables and salads and all things clean.

Fast forward to 2pm on the day it blew into town, when I’d already polished off one jar of Nutella and was onto my second.

It was the week of comfort food.  So today when I came across a recipe for Chicken Pot Pie with Cream Cheese and Chive biscuits on Joy the Baker’s blog, I knew it had to happen.  I made it my project tonight, with a glass of wine and my iPod playing as I cooked.

Digression: am I the only one with an iPod full of questionable music?  I contemplated this as “Disco Inferno” played while I chopped.

Chives found their way into the dry ingredients of biscuit dough, followed by butter, cream cheese and buttermilk.

Hey, did you know that Mick Jagger and David Bowie recorded a cover of “Dancing in the Streets”?  Clearly, I did at some point in the past.  Because it’s on my iPod.

The biscuit dough gets kneaded briefly and patted into a disk, then cut into circles.

The biscuits get refrigerated while I started on the filling.  My favorite veggies – carrots, peas and onions – are sauteed….

…while meat from a rotisserie chicken (Whole Foods makes an awesome rotisserie chicken!) mingles with a cream sauce of butter, flour, chicken broth, milk, cream cheese, lemon juice and nutmeg.

Then the vegetables are folded into the chicken mixture.

The mixture is transferred to a baking dish, while Coldplay sang in the background.  Are they still cool?

The biscuits came out of the fridge to crown the chicken/vegetable/cream sauce mixture, and I brushed buttermilk on top to encourage them to turn golden brown as they cooked in a 400 degree oven.

And, magic.  It’s a dish full of creamy comfort.

U2 sang a live version “Bad”, with a little “All I Want is You” thrown in, while I ate.  Happiness.

 

Tomorrow, a veggie day.  And a long sit down with the iTunes store.

Though I do have a jar of Nutella to finish first.

Check out the recipe at joythebaker.com.

