There’s only one thing to do when a hurricane hits and the rain is falling and the wind is thrashing large objects around on the street in front of your apartment.

Eat some comfort food.

Guacamole is perfect to eat your scared and scary feelings, especially when you’ve already got the ingredients in the refrigerator.

That’s an avocado.  It’s the star of the show.

You’ll want to take out the pit, scoop the flesh out and mash it up in a bowl.

Then add some lime juice. Now, because we were in the middle of a hurricane, all I had was a lemon. I improvised, and happily, I found I actually liked the brighter tang it gave the guacamole better than the lime. But shhhh, don’t tell. I don’t want to upset my lime friends.

Squeeze the lemon (or lime) on the avocado. Not only does it add some tang, it helps to keep the avocado from turning brown.

Next, add in some chopped onions and a pinch of salt.

 

Chop up a jalapeño pepper and add that in. If you like it spicy, leave the membrane and seeds in. If not, then remove them before adding.

See that green leafy stuff below?  That’s cilantro.  It’s one of the loves of my life.  I could take a shower with the leaves, then slather it on as perfume.  I love cilantro. (Of course some people don’t feel the same way.  If you are one of them, and please don’t tell me if you are, then you can just leave it out.)  Take a handful, chop it up and throw it in with the other ingredients.

Mix it all in.

Then eat.  Add chips or tortillas – or just a spoon – and enjoy.  Maybe with a cocktail.

Definitely with a cocktail.

