Sometimes, you just need a vacation.

The key to living in New York City, I’ve come to realize in my 16 years here, is to get out of New York City.

So, I went to Nantucket for a few days.  And it was magical.

The first thing I noticed was how untouched much of the land is on the island.  According to one of my cab drivers, people in Nantucket want to maintain the pristine nature of their surroundings, so strict laws favor preserving sweeping areas of land.  It’s refreshing, and what makes the place so special, despite its growing popularity.

I was fascinated with the landscapes.  The airiness of the wide, open expanses of land enveloped me, beckoning me with its stillness.  I spend my time in New York searching for peace, and Nantucket offered it up to me from the moment I stepped on its soil.

People will ask what I did there. I will tell them I did a whole lotta nothing.  I came in search of quiet, a place to hear myself think, to have a respite from everyday life. What I found was quiet, alright.  So much that my mind just went still, savoring the calm around me.  The quiet thoughts I’d longed to hear went silent themselves, grateful for a moment to breathe.

The beach helped too.

The sand was plumper than I’m used to, almost small pebbles instead of fine grains.  It still worked.

During my time on the island, I was bewitched by the clouds.  The clouds in Nantucket have personalities; they all tell a story.

Especially the storm clouds that drifted in early one evening. These were unlike anything I’d ever seen.

The rains came, so I did what I do best: eat.

Topper’s is the restaurant next to the inn where I stayed, The Wauwinet.  Their food is awesome, like these lobster and crab cakes.  They came with a mustard cream and a roasted corn relish.

Summer on a plate best describes the Lazy Lobster Bake, an upscale, re-imagined version of the summer time dish every beachgoer craves.  Here the shelled lobster was accompanied by fried whole clams, a spectacular linguica hash with caramelized onions and a roasted corn cream.

I would have hung around for dessert, but then the storm ended and the clouds parted.

Visit and experience the magic for yourself.

The Wauwinet, 120 Wauwinet Road; Nantucket, MA 02584; 508.228.0145