I felt a certain kind of melancholy fall over me when I heard about the passing of Nora Ephron last week – the kind you feel for someone you didn’t know, but will still miss terribly.  Accomplished across many fields, she was one of those women who still seemed so accessible, like you would instantly be friends with her.  Partly because she seemed to find humor in almost everything.  It was funny because it was always rooted in truth.

I read in the New York Times yesterday morning that in her book “I Remember Nothing”, she wrote a list of what she would and wouldn’t miss.  Of course, that got me thinking about what I love most in life.

In my head, I started my own list.

It began, and ended, with this:

  • Nutella

I would definitely miss that.  Its taste that I find indescribable leads me down the path of happiness.  Every time.

But, if I were being really honest, I’d add a few more things to the list.

  • My family
  • Sunrises
  • Sunsets
  • The light that falls over the tree in front of my window when the sun sets
  • Chocolate
  • Chocolate croissants
  • Nutella
  • Seeing U2 in concert
  • Watching the moon rise
  • French Toast
  • Hugs
  • The smell of bacon
  • Eating bacon
  • Anticipating eating bacon
  • The smell of bacon and onions cooking together
  • The beach
  • Feeling the sand under my feet at the beach
  • Laughing
  • Cool breezes
  • The first snow
  • The first warm day of the year
  • Getting lost in a really good book
  • Christmas

I found I could go on for days.  How lucky am I?

What I’d miss very much, what I will miss, are nuggets of wisdom like this:

“Above all, be the heroine of your life, not the victim.”

–Nora Ephron

Amen to that.

