The beauty of writing a blog focused on the good things in life is that it forces me to be on the lookout for all things beautiful: an unexpected moment of grace, a comment that shifts a set perception, a snack that transcends simple sustenance into something more.  When the day is long and wonky, it’s helpful to have one good thing to hold on to.

This is much like the end of one year as a new one begins.  It’s a time to reflect on the days and seasons that have passed and to meditate on what worked and what is missing.

2011 was a year that knocked me off course and stopped me in my tracks.  It, like a friend that constantly challenges you with the question “why?”, forced me to look at what is really important to me and why I do what I do.  In every aspect of my life.

While I’ve been temporarily sidelined at the crossroads, the fresh perspective that 2012 brings has implored me to get up, take stock and create some action.  The 30 Days of Goodness series this holiday season was an eye-opener for me.  The goal of one post every day for a month opened me up to an appreciation for the little moments of grace that happen every day, even when the day is challenging. When that series was complete, I missed the rhythm of posting regularly.  So this year, my goal is to create a new post at least once a week.

Grace was beside me today as my new year began in the house of old friends from my college days.  Sleeping in the bedroom of their youngest child, I was awakened at 6:45am by the most beautiful sunrise with peach and amber hues.

2012 already looks promising.

