The Little Things

If I’m being completely honest, sometimes I sit down to write about goodness and I come up with…absolutely nothing.  There are days when my creative well has run dry.  Crazy days that are full of dichotomies: when I’m bored and then overwhelmed, when I’m freezing and then sweating, when I’m famished but then I can’t eat a thing.

Today was that kind of day.

But then the truth is that when I really think about it, when I really pay attention to what happened during the day, there were small moments of grace that made the day.

This morning, I looked out the window and made note of how much I love when the trees in front of my window are bathed in the light from the sunrise.

As I took the escalator up to the lobby of my office, one security guard yelled my name and wished me a happy holiday.  I had no idea he even knew my name.  When I got to the top, another guard, who never makes eye contact with me, smiled and waved at me and wished me a merry Christmas.

When I went to Starbucks this morning for a tall cup of coffee, I was given a grande instead.

A present I ordered for Christmas and had long forgotten about arrived in the mail today, which means someone will be very happy on Christmas morning.

After a few days of wintry cold weather – and a wintry, cold apartment – today was balmy and almost spring-like.  The cool/warm air felt great on my face.

The reality is that even when the day doesn’t have much value, every single day has its moments of grace.

We just need to pay closer attention.

