The Unexpected

I had a plan for my Friday night, but I unexpectedly ended up at the Z100 Jingle Ball, the annual holiday concert hosted by New York’s most popular radio station.

I’m so glad I did.

Sandwiched in with thousands of screaming teenage girls, I was doubtful at first. But the music won me over.  I’d never heard of Gym Class Heroes, but they were infectious and fun.  I had heard of LMFAO, and their campy glee made me giggle. Demi Lovato’s “Skyscraper” called out to the outcast teenage girl in me.  Pitbull knows how to party, turning Madison Square Garden into a giant club.

Lady Gaga, the main headliner of the show, didn’t let me down, even if the teenagers in my section didn’t seem to get her.  She’s at her best when she is at her piano and unleashes her musical genius.  Say what you will about her as a performance artist, the lady can sing.  I’m in awe of that.

The show was the perfect festive way to kick off my holiday season.

 

The evening ended with a midnight dinner at a fantastic Mexican restaurant in the West Village.  The name escapes me, the unfortunate result of a margarita-infused haze.  But, it was delicious fun.

The day – and night – can take you to unexpected places that bring more fun than you’d planned for.  Just go with it.

