I love food.  But you knew that.

However, I’m not the kind of girl who likes to eat flowers.  I tend to think that’s kinda weird.

But when I was in Sicily a few years ago, I tried zucchini blossoms.  They were stuffed with some kind of cheese, anchovies and herbs, and then were fried in a tempura-like batter.  They were delicious.

When I saw them in the market this week, I felt all nostalgic and bought some.  Of course, I had no clue what to do with them – especially since they are so delicate – so I improvised.

I mixed up some random things from the fridge – a little goat cheese, a sprinkling of parmesan, some chopped chives and a bit of grated zucchini (pressing the excess water out).  I gently opened the blossoms and stuffed about a teaspoon-full in each.  Then I dredged them in a mixture of cornmeal and parmesan (the blossoms were still slightly wet from when I washed them, so just the right amount adhered to the flowers).  Twisting them slightly helped to keep the filling in.

Yes, that’s a paper plate.  Don’t judge.

Then I sauteed them on each side in olive oil for a few minutes.

Sometimes my improvisational skills rock.  🙂

