My dear friend Kirsten declared that 2011 will be the Year of Living Consciously. I love the idea of dedicating an entire year to being fully present and embracing what is in front of you. It is the essence of this blog, so it gets my full support with goodness and grace.

I love the thought of intentions instead of resolutions. Because, honestly, none of us will give up sweets forever, or go to the gym seven days a week, or create world peace overnight. Intentions aren’t wishy-washy. They indicate that you mean business.

Personally, I intend this to be my year of Love & Connection. The world needs a little more love, especially my world. That extends beyond relationships with family and other loved ones to myself. It is easy to put oneself last on the list of things to take care of. This year, my intention is to be kinder to myself more, to mother myself more, to tend to my own needs more.

With that in mind, I also intend…

…to limit work to work hours as much as possible to be able to more fully focus on enriching my personal life.

…to only buy things that I really love.

…to do the things that I love and I don’t do enough, like immersing myself in books, wandering through museums and trying new recipes.

…to have friends over more often.

…to stop trying to squeeze into skinny jeans, ’cause they’re just wrong. For me at least.

…to spend more time in nature, especially to venture outside to watch the moon rise.

…to tell people how much I care for them, even if it is for no reason at all.

…to spread the love like fairy dust.

…to dream a bigger dream for myself. I’m excited to figure out what that means.

Intentions are a great way to be focused about what’s really important in life. What’s extraordinary is that the clearer the intention, the more likely the pieces are going to fall into place to bring them to life. I’m excited to see the array of love that shows up in my life throughout the year.

Here’s to a spectacular 2011!

