When I was a child, I loved to be perched in front of the Christmas tree when all was quiet in the house, when I could have some quality time to stare at the lights. We had those oversized multi-colored bulbs that you rarely see sold in stores today, and I was so mesmerized by them that I could sit quietly at the foot of the tree for hours.  Sometimes I would sing Silent Night to myself, almost as a lullaby before the madness of attacking the wrapped presents to see what Santa brought us this year.

Even as a child I innately understood that joy is often found in the little things. Well, except for the Barbie Dream House.  That was a pretty cool big thing.  But I digress.

What we instinctively know as children often gets lost in the shuffle of responsibilities as we get older.  But this year as I try to be fully present in the season, which can be much harder than it sounds, I know it means much more than the mad scramble at the department store.  Sometimes it’s not the presents that make the holiday season special, but the feelings it evokes.  This time of year can hold a deeper meaning that is personal to you, that compels you to go inward and to connect with something that moves you beyond the everyday.

I thought of this as I came across a magnificent quote on one of my favorite blogs, The Simply Luxurious Life.  (That blog, found at www.thesimplyluxuriouslife.com/, is a Christmas gift in itself.  Take a peek if you have a chance.)

“Christmas gift suggestions: To your enemy, forgiveness.  To an opponent, tolerance.  To a friend, your heart.  To a customer, service.  To all, charity.  To every child, a good example.  To yourself, respect.”

— Oren Arnold

My Christmas wish for you is that you find meaning in the holidays, whether or not Christmas is your holiday.  I hope you discover something that transports you and dazzles you and implores you to connect with the enchanting feeling that the tree lights brought me as a child.

Happy Holidays, with goodness and grace.

