I miss my old notebook.  It was black and a good size – not too big, not too small – with the perfect amount of space in between each line.

I’m sad not to see the grumpy people at my old Starbucks and the endlessly happy woman where I used to get breakfast.

I yearn for my old stapler and the drawers that wouldn’t open and knowing exactly where my ruler was at all times.

I don’t miss the old office bathroom, though, with the ever-present multitude of half used rolls of toilet paper on the floor.  I don’t miss wondering where they eventually ended up.

It is hard being new, not knowing where anything is or why nothing seems to be working.  Living beyond what is comfortable is unsettling.  But change is necessary to grow, to become better at life and to more fully develop into the person you are meant to be.

A friend of mine gave me a card a few months ago with this quote:

Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.

— Neale Donald Walsch

Those are words I held onto this week when the fonts on my new computer weren’t working and when I couldn’t figure out how to pdf a document. What is uncomfortable now may ultimately transform you.

The new cafeteria has eased the transition a bit.  I’ve experience daily goodness there, like today’s salmon burger with cilantro mayo.  Sometimes when you stretch over the edge of your comfort zone, you discover pleasures you wouldn’t have known on the other side.

