I love words.  They can offer comfort and inspiration when all else fails.

When the day is long and you are weary from your circumstances and lacking in inspiration, a quote or a passage or a poem can lend a reassurance that no conversation can give.

This is my favorite passage to lean on in times when I need a soft place to fall but cannot seem to find one.  From Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke – one of my favorite books of all time – it has gotten me through a dark night or two.

“So you must not be frightened…if a sadness rises up before you larger than any you have ever seen; if a restiveness, like light and cloud-shadows passes over your hands and over all you do.  You must think that something is happening with you, that life has not forgotten you, that it holds you in its hands; it will not let you fall.”

When inspiration and comfort are hard to come by, I hope this will help you too.

