“You must do the thing you think you cannot do.”

–  Eleanor Roosevelt

Growing up, I was always one of the last people to be picked for a team in gym class.  Though I grew up watching sports, thanks to my sports-obsessed brother, I was never any good at them.  Any of them.

As an adult, things have not changed so much.  I don’t do well in group classes in the gym.  I’m terrible in aerobics classes.  My sole triumph was being able to get through spin class in one piece.  That I actually got pretty good at.

For some unknown reason, I decided to take a running class late last year.  Now, I’ve never been a runner, neither long-distance nor a sprinter.  But I decided to try it out, to see if I could condition myself to run.  The goal of the class was to be able to run for 20 minutes straight by the end of the 8 weeks.

To my surprise, I did it.  It wasn’t always easy.  There were humiliating training days, with me on the treadmill chugging away at 4.5 mph (which, by the way, was a HUGE accomplishment for me), only to have some superdude get on the treadmill next to me effortlessly sprinting away at 9.  (It’s bad enough to feel the wind generated by one of these athletes, but it’s much worse to have them look over at your console in pity, as if the speed was simply pathetic.)  Some days, I thought I was just going to pass out right there on the treadmill.   But I did what I set out to do.  Because I’d committed to it.

And so now, I’m committing to another goal.  I’ve signed up to run a half-marathon at the end of April.  It is probably the nuttiest thing I’ve ever done.  Just pure silliness.  Honestly, I’m not thinking about it too much.  If I did, I’d probably talk myself out of it.

It may not be easy, but the essence of grace is being able to show mercy to yourself.  I’m fully committed.  I’m in it.

And that is goodness.

