I woke up with a start and an immediate craving. For biscuits.

As I searched the internet for a basic biscuit recipe, like the one here, one random line in the results caught my eye. It described an accompaniment: brown sugar bacon.

Luckily I had some bacon in the fridge, leftover from a Christmas Eve impromptu concoction of peas, onion and bacon. (Try it – you’ll love it!)

IMG_3445

Then I had a brilliant idea. What if I made brown sugar bacon and put it IN the biscuit?

Um, yes, please.

I started by laying bacon slices on a foil-lined cookie sheet, then put just under a teaspoon of brown sugar on each slice. The bacon then roasted in a 400 degree oven for about 15 minutes until the sugar turned to a glaze and the bacon was slightly crispy.

IMG_3501

I blotted the slices on paper towels to drain the excess fat, and then chopped the bacon.  (I also uncontrollably munched on the chopped bacon, but I digress.)

Then, I attempted to make biscuit magic.

Flour, baking powder, salt, and a bit of sugar played together in a bowl.  Very cold, diced butter joined the party.

IMG_3507

My pastry cutter blended all of the ingredients together until the butter looked like pebbles in the sand.  (If you’ve never used a pastry cutter, I urge you to try it.  It makes cutting butter into the flour much simpler, and it has the same strangely therapeutic benefits as a meat pounder. At least for me.)

Then I added milk. Now, I only had coconut milk in the fridge, so that’s what I used. Next time, I might be bold and use my favorite vanilla half-and-half to add a little extra depth, richness and a touch more sweetness.

Once the milk was added, I stirred just until the moisture was evenly distributed among the dry ingredients.

IMG_3514

When the mixture was evenly moist, I dumped everything onto a floured board.

IMG_3515

I patted until the dough held together in a mound and was about one inch thick, and took a glass rimmed with flour (or you can use a biscuit cutter, if you have) and cut out the biscuits.

IMG_3517

Baked on a sheet pan lined in parchment paper, the biscuits rose to flaky gloriousness in a 425 degree oven.

And then, I ate.

IMG_3524

The result may not always be perfect, but when inspiration comes knocking, I’ve learned to let it lead you to goodness.

